Westerman Statement on Disaster Recovery Grants

December 6, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON – This week, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) announced an $8,940,000 million disaster recovery grant to Arkansas counties affected by the May-June flooding. U.S. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) issued the following statement:

“Unprecedented flooding earlier this year devastated parts of the Fourth District, destroying homes, businesses and farmland. This grant is a huge step toward getting Arkansan families and businessowners back on their feet. I’m grateful to President Trump and HUD Secretary Carson for approving this funding for our state, and will continue working to modernize water infrastructure to make sure severe flooding like this doesn’t happen in the future.”


HUD is directing the disaster recovery funding to the counties most severely affected by the flooding: Conway, Crawford, Desha, Faulkner, Jefferson, Lincoln, Logan, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Sebastian and Yell.