Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Bruce Westerman (AR-04)A lifelong resident of Garland County, Congressman Bruce Westerman was elected the 20th representative of the Fourth Congressional District of Arkansas in 2014.  He serves on the Committee on the Budget, Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, and the Committee on Natural Resources, where he is the Vice Chair of the Federal Lands Subcommittee. Westerman also serves on the Majority Whip Team under the leadership of House Majority Whip Steve Scalise.

Twice elected to the Arkansas General Assembly, Westerman was Arkansas' first Republican House Majority Leader since Reconstruction. He was an architect of the House Republican SIMPLE Plan which led to the 2013 Republican takeover of the Arkansas House of Representatives.

An engineer and forester for 22 years at Mid-South Engineering in Hot Springs, Westerman is a registered professional engineer and forester.  In 2013, he was named Engineer of the Year by the Arkansas Society of Professional Engineers.

Westerman graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biological and Agricultural Engineering from the University of Arkansas in 1990. While at Arkansas, Westerman was a four-year walk-on member of the Razorback Football Team.  He received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award in 2005 and the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2012. He earned a Master of Forestry degree from Yale University in 2001.

Westerman is a former board member of the Fountain Lake School District and serves as a deacon at Walnut Valley Baptist Church.  He lives in Hot Springs with his wife Sharon and their four children.

For more information on Rep. Bruce Westerman, please visit and follow him on Twitter at and Facebook at


Hot Springs, Arkansas


B.S., University of Arkansas, 1990
M.F., Yale University, 2001


Professional Engineer and Forester

Political Career

  • U.S. House of Representatives, 2015  Present
  • Arkansas House of Representatives, 2011  2014
    • Arkansas House Majority Leader, 2013  2014
    • Arkansas House Minority Leader, 2012  2013
  • Fountain Lake School Board, 2006  2010
    • Fountain Lake School Board President, 2009  2010

For a copy of an official biography, please contact our office.

To download a high-resolution photo of Rep. Westerman, click here.