Westerman Congratulates Lake Hamilton, Poyen Presidential Award Winners

July 7, 2015
Press Release


WASHINGTON – Congressman Bruce Westerman (R-Hot Springs) issued the following statement on Tuesday (July 7) congratulating Brian Leonard of Lake Hamilton High School in Pearcy and Amanda Jones or Poyen High School. Both educators were awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

“STEM education is vitally important in today’s working world,” Westerman said. “It gives me pride to have two STEM educators working in the Fourth District are among the best in the state and nation in preparing our children for the future. I congratulate both Mr. Leonard and Mrs. Jones on their accomplishments and the Lake Hamilton and Poyen School Districts for hiring such outstanding educators.”

According to the NSF, both educators received a citation signed by President Obama and a $10,000 award from NSF. The NSF said both will travel to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony at a later date.

Awardee selections were announced via a White House press release. A copy of the press release may be accessed at https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2015/07/02/president-obama-honors-outstanding-mathematics-and-science-teachers. Information about each of Presidential awardees can be accessed at https://recognition.paemst.org/awardees.