Westerman Announces 2019 Congressional Art Competition Winners

May 4, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) hosted a reception honoring all participants in the 2019 Congressional Art Competition and announcing the top five winners. Westerman issued the following statement:

“I’m always amazed by the talented students in the Fourth District, and this year was no different. From photos, to oil paintings, to charcoal drawings, high schoolers submitted a wide variety of pieces and certainly didn’t make choosing the top artists easy. I walk by the art competition winners every day on my way to vote on the House floor, and I look forward to seeing Tracy’s art displayed soon!”


The Fourth District’s 2019 Congressional Art Competition top five pieces are:

5th place from Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts (ASMSA): Sydney Harris, for her work entitled “Portrait of a Woman.” 

4th place from Lake Hamilton High School: Stevie Hopson, for her work entitled “The Invincible Shape.” 

3rd place from Woodlawn High School: Johnny Hart, for his work entitled “Candy Love.” 

2nd place from Garrett Memorial Christian School: Kaiolahio Sooman-Stanton, for her work entitled “Babe.” 

1st place from ASMSA: Tracy Gwinn, for her work entitled “Portrait 2.” 

Westerman’s office received more than 200 submissions from 16 schools around the district, and the winning piece will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol. Participating schools included:

  • Jessieville High School
  • Hot Springs World Class High School
  • Bismarck High School
  • County Line High School
  • Subiaco Academy
  • Garrett Memorial Christian School
  • Danville High School
  • Fountain Lake High School
  • Lakeside High School
  • Dierks High School
  • Hope High School
  • Woodlawn High School
  • Pine Bluff High School
  • Lake Hamilton High School
  • Arkansas High School