Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressional App Challenge Winners Announced

February 10, 2016
Press Release


HOT SPRINGS – Congressman Bruce Westerman (AR-04) was joined by Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson Monday (Feb. 8) to award top honors for the Fourth District’s Congressional App Challenge.

The Congressional App Challenge is a competition aimed at encouraging U.S. high school students to learn how to code by creating their own applications. The Challenge is intended to highlight the value of computer science and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) education and encourage students to engage in these fields. By encouraging and recognizing our nation’s young programming talent, Congress hopes to shine a light on the growing importance of these skills.

A total of 11 apps were submitted to the Fourth District Congressional App Challenge. The winning app, “ARSchools,” was created by Hamburg High School Students Ana Cruz, Star Lowrey, Shelly Whitt, and Drake Streeter.

“I am proud to see so many talented young people creating apps that meet needs in education, finance, the non-profit sector, and more,” Westerman said. “Competitions like the Congressional App Challenge align with Governor Hutchinson’s efforts to teach coding in public schools and encourage work in STEM fields, giving Arkansas students a competitive advantage in a competitive job market.”

“As governor, I want to congratulate every student who competed in this year’s Congressional App Challenge,” Hutchinson said. “In Arkansas, we are committed to giving our students every opportunity for success – both in the classroom and in the workforce. The future of coding and computer science education in Arkansas is gaining momentum, and I applaud Congressman Westerman for his support of this important initiative.”

The “ARSchools” app will be on digital display at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C., along with winning apps from other congressional districts.

Following are runners up for the Fourth District Congressional App Challenge:

  • 2nd Place: “Fulfill,” Alexa Donley, Fountain Lake Charter High School;
  • 3rd Place: “How to Help,” Brandon Cox, Lauryn White, Chelsey Vermillion, and Timothy Tignor, Arkansas School for the Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts;
  • 4th Place: “On-the-Go Currency,” Bryan Stacy, Reagen Richburg, Craig Hensley, and Zane Savell , Fouke High School; and
  • 5th Place: “uFeel,” Kenzie Glass and Kristie Glass, Springhill High School.

More information on the Congressional App Challenge may be found at

* Media seeking photos of the winning teams may download high resolution photos at