Arkansas Delegation Applauds Disaster Declaration for State

June 26, 2015
Press Release


WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton – along with Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman – announce that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today issued a major disaster declaration for the state, allowing local communities to recover from severe storms and flooding. 

“We are pleased with this quick response from the administration which will allow residents and local governments financial assistance to speed up recovery efforts,” members said. 

Under this designation, assistance is available for residents and households of Crawford, Garland, Howard, Jefferson, Little River, Miller, Perry, Sebastian, and Sevier Counties. Clark, Crawford, Dallas, Franklin, Garland, Hempstead, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sevier, and Yell Counties are eligible to apply for Public Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. All Arkansas counties will also be eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which helps prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property. 

On Wednesday, June 24, 2015 members sent a letter to President Obama in support of Governor Hutchinson’s disaster declaration request.