House Passes Bill to Name Hot Springs Post Office After Fallen Sailor

May 23, 2016
Press Release

WASHINGTON – The U.S. House of Representatives on Monday (May 23) passed H.R. 3931, a bill to designate the United States Post Office located at 620 Central Avenue, Suite 1A in Hot Springs National Park as the Chief Petty Officer Adam Brown United States Post Office.

Brown, a Hot Springs native, overcame many adversities in his life – including addiction – before joining the U.S. Navy and becoming a member of SEAL Team SIX.

On March 17, 2010, American forces were engaged in a firefight in Komar Province, Afghanistan, when members of Brown’s unit were cornered. Chief Petty Officer Brown maneuvered to draw enemy fire away from his unit and toward himself. He died as a result of his heroic actions.

“Chief Petty Officer Brown’s story is a great American success story. His battle to overcome addictions to not only become one of the nation’s most elite warriors but also to be a husband, father, and a man who lived out his faith is a story worth celebrating and remembering,” Westerman said. “Adam exemplified the SEAL code of loyalty to country, team, and teammate, giving his life to save the members of his unit. Though he was killed in the line of duty, his selfless actions ensured victory for his brothers in arms. Adam’s love for America was evident by his selfless actions. On this week before Memorial Day, it is my hope that this piece of legislation will not only serve to honor Adam, but that it will also honor all of the men and women from the Fourth Congressional District of Arkansas who have given their lives in defense of the United States.”

Chief Petty Officer Brown’s story was the basis for the New York Times bestselling book “Fearless.”

Co-sponsors of this legislation are Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-01), French Hill (AR-02), Steve Womack (AR-03), Andy Barr (KY-06), Jim McDermott (WA-07), and Ryan Zinke (MT-At Large). Zinke, like Brown, was a member of the Navy’s SEAL Team SIX.

H.R. 3931 will now proceed to the U.S. Senate for consideration.