FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers Ready to Assist Residents

July 16, 2015
Blog Post
Centers open in Crawford, Howard, and Jefferson Counties

UPDATE (Monday, July 20, 2015): Hours for the Howard and Jefferson County disaster recovery centers have changed. Click here for updated hours.

FEMA disaster recovery centers have opened across the Fourth District of Arkansas, ready to assist residents impacted by May and June's severe weather. The centers will be open until further notice.

ORIGINAL POST: The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette explains how the FEMA disaster recovery centers can assist residents:

Residents of areas designated for federal disaster assistance can visit the disaster recovery center. Those counties are Crawford, Garland, Howard, Jefferson, Little River, Miller, Perry, Sebastian and Sevier.

Federal disaster assistance includes money for rental assistance, home repairs, personal property loss and other disaster-related needs not covered by insurance, FEMA officials said.

Before visiting a FEMA disaster recovery center, residents and business owners seeking assistance should first register online at disasterassistance.gov. FEMA also also notified my office that residents who do not have access to the internet may call the Federal Emergency Management Agency at 1-800-621-3362. Deaf and hard of hearing individuals may dial 1-800-462-7585 for assistance.

The FEMA disaster recovery centers are located in the following counties:

Crawford County
Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative
615 Pointer Trail, Van Buren
Hours: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Monday through Saturday)
1 p.m. to 5 p.m. (Sundays)

Howard County
Carter Day Training Center
200 Lake Nichols Dr., Nashville
9 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Monday through Friday)
9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Saturdays)
Closed (Sundays)

Jefferson County
Pine Bluff Convention Center
500 E. 8th Ave., Pine Bluff
9 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Monday through Friday)
9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Saturdays)
Closed (Sundays)

The Dem-Gaz said FEMA will also offer consultations at local stores in addition to the FEMA disaster recovery centers already in place. These consultations will take place through July 24.

The sessions will be held at three Lowe’s locations: 2906 E. Harding Ave. in Pine Bluff; 2120 Fayetteville Road in Van Buren; and 300 Cornerstone Blvd. in Hot Springs. The sessions are set for 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday through Saturday.

FEMA specialists will also be in Howard County at Bailey Discount Building Supply, 880 E. Collin Raye Drive in De Queen, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and Friday and Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon.

As always, residents in need of assistance may call my Hot Springs office at 1-501-609-9796 or visit westerman.house.gov.